In June 2019, the Ohio Board of Education adopted the Social Emotional Learning Standards which were developed by Ohio teachers, school counselors, and educational personnel. The standards cover grades K-12 with Ohio's Early Learning and Development Standards already providing social and emotional learning guidelines for children ages birth to five. (See the INFOhio Early Learning Portal for resources to support these standards). The standards cover five competency areas important in developing social and emotional skills. These competencies are:

  • Self-Awareness
  • Self-Management
  • Social Awareness
  • Relationship Skills 
  • Responsible Decision-Making 

INFOhio partnered with Ohio Department of Education through the advisory and development process of the Social Emotional Learning Standards. We believe that our resources and digital content can support the growth of Ohio students not only academically, but also mentally and emotionally. Using a variety of content, approaches, and media to teach social-emotional competencies will strengthen schools as they work to create the whole child. Our blog series will highlight the resources available from INFOhio which can be used to support the Ohio Social and Emotional Learning Standards for Ohio schools. 

Grades K-2 Resources

Grades 3-5 Resources

Grades 6-8 Resources

Grades 9-12 Resources

Upcoming trainings/meetings:

Google Certified Level 1: 11/19, 8:00-3:00

Media Services Advisory: 11/20 8:30-3:30

Advanced G-Suite: 11/20 9:00-3:00

Google Certified Level 2: 12/3 8:00-3:00

Tech for Early Childhood/Elementary: 12/4 12:30-3:00

Makerspace Open Lab: 12/4 2:00-3:30

Oh The Places You Can Go with Green Screen Editing: 12/9 8:30-10:30

Tech for Social Studies/ELA: 12/11 12:30-3:00

Did You Know?

NEOnet has a Makerspace that is open to district staff so they can experiment with STEAM activities for their classrooms. Contact Tamra Dugan (dugan[at]neonet[dot]org) for more information.

Librarian's Update